Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards for 1991

Haiku Society of America

Merit Book Awards for 1991

for books published in 1990

Elizabeth St. Jacques and Elizabeth Searle Lamb

First Place

Virginia Brady Young. Warming A Snowflake. Hamden, CT: Sleeping Giant Associates, 1990.

Second Place

Hal Roth. Her Daughter’s Eyes. Glen Burnie, MD: Wind Chimes Press, 1990.

Third Place - Tie

Anne Mckay. From the Upper Room. Glen Burnie, MD: Wind Chimes Press, 1990.

Alexis Rotella. Carousel. La Crosse, WI: Juniper Press, 1990.

Honorable Mention

Adele Kenny. Castles & Dragons. Passaic, NJ: Yorkshire House with Muse-Pie Press, 1990.

Honorable Mention

Michael Dylan Welch. The Haijin’s Tweed Coat. Foster City, CA: Press Here, 1990.

Honorable Mention

Jane Reichhold. Silence. Gualala, CA: AHA Books, 1990.

Honorable Mention - Posthumous Award for Haiku Excellence

Charles Dickson. Out of Cassiopela. Deer Isle, ME, 1990.

Honorable Mention - Anthology

Alexis Rotella, Editor. The Rise and Fall of Sparrows: A Collection of North American Haiku. San Diego, CA: Los Hombres Press, 1990.

Honorable Mention - Renga

Jane Reichhold, Editor. Round Renga Round. Gualala, CA: AHA Books, 1990.

Honorable Mention - Miniature

Carol Montgomery. Outlines. Amherst, MA: Swamp Press, 1990.

Honorable Mention - Critical Writing on Haiku

Toshimi Horiuchi. Synesthesia in Haiku and Other Essays. Manilla, Phillipines: The University of the Philippines, 1990.



The purpose of the Haiku Society of America's Merit Book Awards is to recognize the best haiku and related books published in a given year. Every year sees a fresh crop of fine individual collections, anthologies, translations, critical studies and innovative forms.

In the past, the HSA Merit Book awards were partially supported by a memorial gift. Leroy Kanterman, cofounder of the Haiku Society of America, made a gift to support the first place award in memory of his wife Mildred Kanterman. See the archives of Merit Book Awards.

The Merit Book Awards competition is open to the public. Books must have been published in the previous year and must clearly contain a printed previous year copyright. A member, author, or publisher may submit or nominate more than one title. At least 50 percent of the book must be haiku, senryu, or haibun, or prose about these subjects (books mostly of tanka, for example, are not eligible). HSA will also consider collections that have only appeared in an e-book/digital book format. Two print copies of the digital book may be sent by the publisher. Books published by HSA officers are eligible for this award. Books published by the national HSA organization, however, are not eligible.

Winners by Year (with judges' comments):

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1985 | 1983 | 1981 | 1978 | 1975 |

See the contest rules for entering the next Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards competition.