Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards for 2022

Haiku Society of America

Merit Books Awards for 2022

Agnes Eva Savich and Bill Cooper , judges


First Place

John Stevenson, My Red: Selected Haiku of John Stevenson, Brooks Books, 2021.

(Commentary from the judges will be posted on the web site in conjunction with publication in Frogpond journal.)

Second Place

Edward Cody Huddleston, Wildflowers in a Vase, Red Moon Press, 2021.

Third Place

Tia Haynes and Jonathan Roman, After Amen: A Memoir in Two Voices, Published by the authors, 2021.

Honorable Mentions (not ranked but in alphabetical order by author)

Rebecca Lilly, Aporia, Red Moon Press, 2021.

John Martone, A Landscape in Pieces, Tufo, 2021.

Bill Pauly, Walking Uneven Ground: Selected Haiku of Bill Pauly, Brooks Books, 2021.

Michele Root-Bernstein, Wind Rose, Snapshot Press, 2021.

~ ~ ~



Jim Kacian, Terry Ann Carter, Claudia Brefeld, The Engdangered C, Red Moon Press, 2021.

Honorable Mention

Annette Makino, Water and Stone: Ten Years of Art and Haiku, Makino Studios, 2021.

~ ~ ~



Sean O’Connor, Fragmentation, Alba Publishing, 2021.

Honorable Mentions

Rich Youmans, Ron Moss, Ludmilla Balabanova, Tish Davis, Terri L. French, Peter Newton, Bryan Rickert, and Harriot West, editors, Contemporary Haibun Volume 16, Red Moon Press, 2021.

Margaret Chula, Firefly Lanterns: Twelve Years in Kyoto. Shanti Arts Publishing, 2021.

~ ~ ~



Jacqueline Pearce, editor, Last Train Home. Pondhawk Press, 2021.

Honorable Mentions

Jim Kacian and the Red Moon Press editorial staff, Jar of Rain: The Red Moon Anthology of English-Language Haiku 2020, Red Moon Press, 2021.

Jim Kacian and Julie Warther, A New Resonance 12: Emerging Voices in English- Language Haiku, Red Moon Press, 2021.

~ ~ ~


H.F. Noyes, Favorite Haiku and Other Collected Essays, Red Moon Press, 2021.

~ ~ ~


About our 2022 judges:

Agnes Eva Savich is a university program coordinator, oboist, and haiku poet. Her work has appeared in major journals since 2004, placed in contests in the U.S.A., Canada, England, and Japan, and been anthologized in several collections. Among her other activities, she founded (2019) and still leads the Austin Texas Haiku Group; served as judge of the Vancouver Cherry Blossom Festival Contest (2020); edited the Haiku Society of America Southwest Region 2021 members’ anthology; and prepared the Memorial Presentation for Haiku North America 2021. She has resided in Poland, France, and Chicago, and currently lives in Pflugerville, near Austin, Texas.

Bill Cooper is an academic who began writing haiku in 2009. He publishes in leading haiku journals,  has published nine haiku collections, and served for five years as one of the founding editors of Juxtapositions: A Journal of Research and Scholarship in Haiku. Two of his books were shortlisted for the Touchstone Distinguished Book Awards and one received an Honorable Mention in the Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards. His latest book, Rounded by the Sea, was published by Red Moon Press.

~ ~ ~

The books are available at

After Amen is available on-line at Amazon.com
Alba Publishing: http://www.albapublishing.com
Brooks Brooks: http://www.brooksbookshaiku.com
Markino Studios: https://www.makinostudios.com
Pondhawk Press: https://jacquelinepearce.ca/books/poetry/
Red Moon Press: https://redmoonpress.com
Shanti Arts Press: http://www.shantiarts.co/catalog/books_poetry.html Snapshot Press: http://www.snapshotpress.co.uk/index.htm
Martone’s book is available by e-mailing him at <jpmx@protonmail.com>







The purpose of the Haiku Society of America's Merit Book Awards is to recognize the best haiku and related books published in a given year. Every year sees a fresh crop of fine individual collections, anthologies, translations, critical studies and innovative forms.

In the past, the HSA Merit Book awards were partially supported by a memorial gift. Leroy Kanterman, cofounder of the Haiku Society of America, made a gift to support the first place award in memory of his wife Mildred Kanterman. See the archives of Merit Book Awards.

The Merit Book Awards competition is open to the public. Books must have been published in the previous year and must clearly contain a printed previous year copyright. A member, author, or publisher may submit or nominate more than one title. At least 50 percent of the book must be haiku, senryu, or haibun, or prose about these subjects (books mostly of tanka, for example, are not eligible). HSA will also consider collections that have only appeared in an e-book/digital book format. Two print copies of the digital book may be sent by the publisher. Books published by HSA officers are eligible for this award. Books published by the national HSA organization, however, are not eligible.

Winners by Year (with judges' comments):

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1985 | 1983 | 1981 | 1978 | 1975 |

See the contest rules for entering the next Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards competition.