Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards for 1992

Haiku Society of America

Merit Book Awards for 1992

for books published in 1991

Raffael de Gruttola and Patricia Neubauer

This year as in the past few years, the Merit Book Awards Contest has shown a marked increase in the number of books submitted as well as the high quality of the entries. As judges we were hard pressed to make the right decisions. Inevitably we were responsible for our choices and win or lose we bear the criticism and/or respect of the final results. This year is no exception.

First Place

Alan Pizzarelli. City Beat. Islet Books, 1991.

Second Place

Anita Virgil. One Potato Two Potato Etc. Forest, VA: Peaks Press, 1991.

Third Place

Robert Spiess. The Cottage of Wild Plum. Madison, WI: Modern Haiku, 1991.

Honorable Mention

Anne Mckay. Shaping the Need. 1991.

Honorable Mention

Alexis Rotella. An Unknown Weed. Pointe Claire, Quebec: King’s Road Press, 1991.

~ ~ ~







The purpose of the Haiku Society of America's Merit Book Awards is to recognize the best haiku and related books published in a given year. Every year sees a fresh crop of fine individual collections, anthologies, translations, critical studies and innovative forms.

In the past, the HSA Merit Book awards were partially supported by a memorial gift. Leroy Kanterman, cofounder of the Haiku Society of America, made a gift to support the first place award in memory of his wife Mildred Kanterman. See the archives of Merit Book Awards.

The Merit Book Awards competition is open to the public. Books must have been published in the previous year and must clearly contain a printed previous year copyright. A member, author, or publisher may submit or nominate more than one title. At least 50 percent of the book must be haiku, senryu, or haibun, or prose about these subjects (books mostly of tanka, for example, are not eligible). HSA will also consider collections that have only appeared in an e-book/digital book format. Two print copies of the digital book may be sent by the publisher. Books published by HSA officers are eligible for this award. Books published by the national HSA organization, however, are not eligible.

Winners by Year (with judges' comments):

2022 | 2021 | 2020 | 2019 | 2018 | 2017 | 2016 | 2015 | 2014 | 2013 | 2012 | 2011 | 2010 | 2009 | 2008 | 2007 | 2006 | 2005 | 2004 | 2003 | 2002 | 2001 | 2000 | 1999 | 1998 | 1997 | 1996 | 1995 | 1994 | 1993 | 1992 | 1991 | 1990 | 1989 | 1988 | 1987 | 1985 | 1983 | 1981 | 1978 | 1975 |

See the contest rules for entering the next Haiku Society of America Merit Book Awards competition.